The Student Room Group

Actuarial science 2024

Has anyone received an offer for actuarial science, if so at which university?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'm applying in January after my next set of mocks. What unis have you applied to?
Reply 2
Original post by Jieay20
I'm applying in January after my next set of mocks. What unis have you applied to?

Hey, What does someone in actuary science do? Because I wanted to be do something related to maths and finance
Reply 3
Original post by Wishd
Hey, What does someone in actuary science do? Because I wanted to be do something related to maths and finance

Hey
I'm currently studying Actuarial Data science and what it comprises is Linear Algebra, Calculus, Mathematical modelling (Python), Financial Maths (aka Actuarial maths), Economics, Statistics and Financial management (Accounting).
If you're interested and have a drive for mathematical problems then this degree is for you.
Word of advice, this degree requires a lot of work and it will test your capabilities. Hardwork is inevitable.
(edited 5 months ago)
Reply 4
Just thought I'd come back to this thread and update you all, I've currently received offers for UEA, Essex and Kent. I'm now just waiting on Leicester and York.
Reply 5
Hey, has anyone got offers from any more unis so far? I've got offers from York, UEA, Essex, Kent and Leicester now 😀
(edited 5 months ago)
hello!
i haven't seen many other people applying for actuarial science on here, so it was nice to find this thread! so far i have recieved offers from qmul, essex, and city uni of london (bayes business school). im currently waiting on southampton and lse :smile:
Reply 7
Original post by uglyplushy
hello!
i haven't seen many other people applying for actuarial science on here, so it was nice to find this thread! so far i have recieved offers from qmul, essex, and city uni of london (bayes business school). im currently waiting on southampton and lse :smile:

Congrats :smile:
Original post by Jieay20