The Student Room Group

Looking to get back into it..

I am a graduate of software engineering in 2019 (Mature student) - Covid and family stuff happened and I was unable to find a role in the first year(half during Covid and before) and failed to keep maintaining my skills in the years leading to now.

I am seeking to return to development back-end, However I am unsure of the things I am required to relearn and I am aware of the turmoil in the junior/entry level developer job market currently. I have next to no experience (I had a casual front-end role/web admin during my time at university but that was nearly 6 years ago) I was currently working during all these years, so I have the soft skills to work with and manage others.

My idea plan would be to while continuing my part time job, take part in a part time or online MSC unsure of what yet, Rebuild my portfolio and try to network out via meetups and developers in my local city.

I would appreciate any advice I could get.
Reply 1
Original post by HatHamWitch
I am a graduate of software engineering in 2019 (Mature student) - Covid and family stuff happened and I was unable to find a role in the first year(half during Covid and before) and failed to keep maintaining my skills in the years leading to now.

I am seeking to return to development back-end, However I am unsure of the things I am required to relearn and I am aware of the turmoil in the junior/entry level developer job market currently. I have next to no experience (I had a casual front-end role/web admin during my time at university but that was nearly 6 years ago) I was currently working during all these years, so I have the soft skills to work with and manage others.

My idea plan would be to while continuing my part time job, take part in a part time or online MSC unsure of what yet, Rebuild my portfolio and try to network out via meetups and developers in my local city.

I would appreciate any advice I could get.