The Student Room Group

How did you get an A at Edexcel AS Chemistry?

Hi!

I am studying AS Chemistry Edexcel this year and I want an A so I can go to Medical School next year.

Does anyone know how I can get an A at AS Level for my Edexcel Chemistry.

Anyone who got an A at AS Chemistry please give us your tips, tricks, secrets, links etc....
By scoring high marks in the exam.
On a less facetious note, when you think you understand the concepts, do as many past papers as you can. Don't ever think you are 'revising' when you reread your notes.

If you run out of edexcel papers or want to 'reserve' them for nearer the exam, try AQA:

http://www.aqa.org.uk/qualifications/a-level/science/chemistry/chemistry-key-materials

be warned that not all of the Qs are relevant but most are

EDIT: As an example, once you have finished studying periodicity (for the Jan exam) you should be able to do all of Q2 on this AQA paper http://store.aqa.org.uk/qual/gce/pdf/AQA-CHEM1-W-QP-JUN10.PDF

SECOND EDIT: Do NOT try any edexcel past papers before you believe you understand the material, because you will then have nothing to do before the exam. Use the AQA questions, or Qs your teacher sets, or Qs in the revision guide, as a learning tool.
(edited 12 years ago)
Original post by Agent Smirnoff
Hi!

I am studying AS Chemistry Edexcel this year and I want an A so I can go to Medical School next year.

Anyone who got an A at AS Chemistry please give us your tips, tricks, secrets, links etc....

you get an A by working hard, easy to think, but difficult to achieve.

i got a B and was 14 ums off an A which is like 6-7 marks. one of the unit 2 papers were hard which is why i was brought down to a B. make sure you do past papers and fully understand whats going on with the concepts.

apart from that, good luck
Reply 3