The Student Room Group

Tips for AS-level Biology?

I am currently studying AS biology on the AQA exam board and finding it quite difficult. Its not the content I am struggling with, in fact I find it quite easy to memorise and understand it, its the actual exam questions. I can never figure out what it is the question is asking for and lose lots of marks for not using the correct terms. Any Advice? I'm aiming for an A.
Reply 1
Original post by Shannonscott96
I am currently studying AS biology on the AQA exam board and finding it quite difficult. Its not the content I am struggling with, in fact I find it quite easy to memorise and understand it, its the actual exam questions. I can never figure out what it is the question is asking for and lose lots of marks for not using the correct terms. Any Advice? I'm aiming for an A.

Look through a few papers and make a note of the questions and read the mark schemes. What you will find is that for longer questions, the mark schemes tend to be very similar between papers, it's just the questions are dressed up in a different way. Once you've read a few it becomes quite easy to figure it out and you can just spool everything off. I had the same problem with chem, As long as your learning is good, you should be fine! You've still got.7 months, it'll come it just takes time... :smile:
Reply 2

When I started AS biology I had the same problems with exam questions. What I found best is using exam style questions answers, when you go through past papers make notes on similar questions that pop up each year or so and learn the answers. I made notes on the mark scheme and learnt the answers together with using CGP revision guide and I got an A. Learn the content to a certain depth then learn how to manipulate this into exam answers.
Thank you both so much I think in will try learning it from the mark scheme as well as my notes. :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4