The Student Room Group

Career Options for Final Year Maths Undergrad

I am a final year Maths undergrad at a Russell Group university on course to achieving a first. I did an actuarial internship two summers ago and did a project involving some basic programming last summer, as well as lots of volunteering, tutoring etc.

This year has been a bit of a mess because my depression has been flaring up again. I only started applying for actuarial grad schemes recently. I have two assessment centres coming up and will be applying for two more syndicates soon and the company I worked at previously. Unfortunately I do not think I am in a place where I can perform well at the assessment centres. My depression and the rut I have been in over the last few years have slowed down my brain and my isolation from people has taken a hit to my people skills. I attempted a group exercise task with my dad and found myself struggling to think of points and flubbing the few points I did have. I know that this is something I can improve on but realistically I don't think this will be possible in the short amount of time I have.

Do you have any recommendations for alternative careers I could feasibly get into after graduating, considering these issues and any advice for how I would go about that? At this point I am feeling quite desperate and just want a stable career with decent pay.

I have been considering secondary teaching. I would definitely need to work on my communication but I think I could make a decent teacher since, unlike with actuarial, I would actually care about what I am doing and it wouldn't be too much for me intellectually. The big issue is the pay - I would like to be earning more.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.
(edited 7 years ago)