The Student Room Group

What are my chances (as a US applicant) of getting into Oxford?

Hey!
I've been trying to find some information on American students getting into Oxford with little luck so figured I'd just ask for help here on TSR :smile:

I'm trying to apply to Oxford this october. I've been at Uni (UC Berkeley) for a year now and I'm currently majoring in political science. I've been intended law for awhile now and find it frustrating that law is only a graduate degree here in the US. That's why I'm planning to apply to Oxford to pursue law and I'll also be saving money). I'm interested in international law so getting a law degree in another country is fine.

Could someone give me a good indication of my chances?

My SAT is 2350 (writing-800, critical reading- 780, math -770).

AP English Lang-5,
AP Art History-5,
AP Eng Lit-5.

SAT II math- 780, AP Env. Sci-4, AP Bio-4, AP Calc AB-3, AP Chem-3
Other science and math AP's are not great. I honestly didn't try hard because you take them at the end of the year and by that time, I had already been granted admission to Berkeley (no such thing as a conditional offer).

Activities:
Legal Coordinator-Suitcase Clinic (autonomous student clinic that serves the homeless citizens of the city of Berkeley and Oakland. I advise homeless clients on cases regarding evictions, police brutality, family law, criminal law, etc).

I have also been a scribe for a law student with a disability that prevents her from typing and flipping pages. So i've been helping her complete her law homework and assist her in a bar prep and her externships (ACLU, EEOC).
Reply 1