The Student Room Group

What did you do to get A* in your GSCE exams?

Hey!
Im a student who just got into year 10 working towards A's and A* but I'd like for anyone who's already done there GSCE's to please give me some advice towards how to do that. All my target grades are around 8/7 which are the new grades equivalent to A's and A*'s.
My ambition has always been in dentistry and since that's such a competitive field, I know I need to get the best results I can get.
So what can I do starting from now that would really help me in the long run?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Start taking your own notes from a textbook as soon as possible. Don't just study hard; study smart. Take 5 minute breaks every half hour, and take a longer break after 1.5 hours.
I didn't really revise for GCSEs and I only got 1 A* so I guess I'll tell you what I did for that subject (Maths).
In my opinion if you're innately talented at Maths, getting an A*/A is extremely easy. I strongly recommend past papers. Pay attention in class. Cover all the content quickly for Maths and then move onto past papers. If you do enough of them, you're guaranteed to do well in Maths imo.
At GCSE (and all exams really I guess), past papers and exam questions are very important. They are accurate ways of testing your knowledge at a realistic difficulty.

In the time you have to study (years), pay attention in class and as soon as you don't know something, look it up from a trusted source or ask your teacher.
In the months you have to study, focus should be on questions and past papers.

In general, stay organised. Don't become complacent but don't stress yourself either. Set some short-term and long-term goals, just a few.

I wish you all the best in your upcoming years of study! :smile:

(All of this is in my opinion and may not work for everyone)