The Student Room Group

Mature student looking for advice into medicine

So as the title suggests. I’m a mature student (31) and have decided after years of self doubt, lack of confidence, and generally bad life mistakes that I want to pursue the career I’ve always dreamed about.

The problem is I didn’t do great in my GCSE’s and have been out of education for over 10 years, from what I researched so far the quickest route for me into medicine would be an access course, luckily I live in Manchester so Manchester college seems like a good shout. However after speaking with them I would need maths and English GCSE grade B or above. I’m more than confident of achieving those grades but that’s going to put me back another year and at 31 I’m not getting any younger so my question is am I wasting my time due to my age or is worth pursuing?
Original post by Simona33
So as the title suggests. I’m a mature student (31) and have decided after years of self doubt, lack of confidence, and generally bad life mistakes that I want to pursue the career I’ve always dreamed about.

The problem is I didn’t do great in my GCSE’s and have been out of education for over 10 years, from what I researched so far the quickest route for me into medicine would be an access course, luckily I live in Manchester so Manchester college seems like a good shout. However after speaking with them I would need maths and English GCSE grade B or above. I’m more than confident of achieving those grades but that’s going to put me back another year and at 31 I’m not getting any younger so my question is am I wasting my time due to my age or is worth pursuing?

I don't know if medicine is an achievable goal for you but getting decent grades in maths and English GCSE would be a positive move towards medicine, some other academic study or for employment. Go for it.
Reply 2