The Student Room Group

3 B's at A Level - still got a chance for a TC?

I know this has been asked in various ways, and I have read the other topics, but I guess I just need some sort of reassurance.

I’m currently studying Law LLB at Leicester, averaging about 66% in my first year so far.
I have 3 B’s at A-level in English, Maths and Law. They were all so close to A’s 6 marks and under though, which I suppose annoys me, as I can never write that on application forms. But when there’s a 60 mark difference between an A and a B, it’s frustrating. Especially as I was only one mark off in my Maths.

What are my prospects of getting into a magic-circle firm with these kinds of grades? Are they likely to pass me off instantly because I don’t have any A’s?

I realise it is also about extra-curriculum activities and work experience, but will they look at the grades before anything else?
I am trying to make up for my grades with the extras:

I was vice-president at my college student’s union.

I’m doing the BUNAC summer camp USA programme this summer.

I just completed a Managers scheme (which Allen & Overy were part of)

I’m applying for work experience/shadowing in small high street firms for this September.

I’m trying to be part of Herbert Smith’s campus managers scheme (half way through application, but again I’m put off by the fact they probably think my A-levels are too low)

I’m currently trying to set up a Bright Futures society for my university.

Work part time being promoted to supervisor.

Part of various societies public speakers, law, modern dance.

I guess what I’m saying is, is it actually enough though? Or will I instantly be disregarded because of my grades?

Honest answers would be much appreciated.

Scroll to see replies

I'm sure if you demonstrate your enthusiasm etc. for the subject you would have a good shot