The Student Room Group

conflicted 1st yr doing aeronautics at imperial, need opinions!

hello lovely people

To summarise my journey up to today: In Year 13, I applied for Aeronautical Engineering at several universities, and I am now in my first year at Imperial. At the time, I loved it, and to be honest, I still do enjoy the theoretical aspects of my modules. However, I've come to realise that being an aerospace engineer isn't what I had imagined, and the salary doesn't support that either.

Now, I'm about to finish my first year at uni, and over the Easter break, I've been doing research into finance and investment banking. Unfortunately, I did not apply for spring weeks this year, as I was too late. However, my degree is four years, and I think I might be able to apply for some next year. I have zero finance or investment banking experience (apart from gcse business lol), and I am currently planning to spend some money on a long structured course that will cover all the basics of financial modelling, accounting terminology, and all that other stuff. am a bit worried, though, that just taking online courses won't get me very far when applying

I would appreciate some opinions on what my next steps should be
Reply 1
Original post by florakathefloor
hello lovely people

To summarise my journey up to today: In Year 13, I applied for Aeronautical Engineering at several universities, and I am now in my first year at Imperial. At the time, I loved it, and to be honest, I still do enjoy the theoretical aspects of my modules. However, I've come to realise that being an aerospace engineer isn't what I had imagined, and the salary doesn't support that either.