The Student Room Group

ways to boost vet school application

hello! i am a current sophomore neuroscience student on the pre-vet track. i was just wondering about the best ways to boost my vet school applications and if there are some extracurriculars which might be more worth my time than others.

currently i have a 3.08 gpa which is definitely improving (freshman year was a difficult adjustment for me in terms of adapting study habits from high school to college). by the time vet school applications are due (senior fall) i could plausibly have at least around a 3.4 gpa, which would hopefully increase further by graduation.

i have lots of volunteering hours, shadowing hours, and some solid extracurriculars (founder and president of our college's neuroscience club). i will also be taking the gre at some point and potentially the mcat (i know it doesn't apply to vet schools however i have personal reasons for taking it), one or both of which could potentially benefit me.

furthermore in terms of academics, i am considering overloading on "easy" coursework (english classes, etc.) and taking summer classes to boost my overall (not science) gpa.

i also believe that i have solid essays (work in progresses) and good qualifications/a good "why me" story which sets me apart from other applicants.my big question here is how badly will my gpa affect my application? how can i boost other aspects of my application to "overshadow" this (although i know grades can't necessarily be overshadowed here).

i appreciate any advice!
(edited 1 month ago)
Reply 1