The Student Room Group

GCSES and Access to HE

Can anyone help?!?!

I seem to be hitting dead ends with my research, even after contacting a few universities.

Background - I have GCSE's, grade 5 for math and science and a grade 5 and 6 for English, then a few 5's and one 7 in history. I do not have any A-levels (any that I could use), I studied at college but due to personal circumstances, did not sit the actual exams during covid.

I am now doing lots of research into Access to HE science courses, however this doesn't seem to be enough. Liverpool need me to have at least 5 grade 6's or above, alongside H & K and Nottingham. The only uni that does not is UCLAN.

My question is - has anyone sat their GCSES alongside an access to HE course. I would be applying to said unis this October after starting my access to HE course in September. I did read that I had to have already had said GCSES and grades couldn't be outstanding meaning I would have to take them this Summer which I wouldn't be able to do due to prior commitments. Surely I would take my access to HE exams and GCSES at the same time/exam season.

Sorry for the information overload, I honestly feel well and truly out of my league. I understand that every university is looking for something different, however I'm not finding them super helpful.

Any guidance is massively appreciated!!
Reply 1
Original post by hollywoods01
Can anyone help?!?!
I seem to be hitting dead ends with my research, even after contacting a few universities.
Background - I have GCSE's, grade 5 for math and science and a grade 5 and 6 for English, then a few 5's and one 7 in history. I do not have any A-levels (any that I could use), I studied at college but due to personal circumstances, did not sit the actual exams during covid.