The Student Room Group

questions about oxford...

context: I want to go to oxford
1) will doing an EPQ about something other than I am studying or want to study ok, or will Oxford appreciate it more if I do an extension of something I am learning so I can talk about it in interviews?

2) Will doing 5 a levels give ,e a better chance of getting in?

3) How do the colleges work? I want to study science, are there colleges better siuited? i'm really confused about that

4) what other extra-curricular things does Oxford value?
(i do lamda, i have a primary, secondary and will have a high school diploma for a full japanese education on top of my normal GCSEs and A levels)

5) how vital are GCSEs?

6) is there anything else that Oxford may be looking for?

I'm in year 11 and ranting bc i'm stressed, pls help :smile:
1) An EPQ on something related to your subject will be more helpful than one that is not

2) No - do 4 max, only three are required though

3) I don't really know how the colleges work but some are likely to be better than others for different subjects, but I haven't applied to Oxbridge so I don't know for sure

4) I would probably have a look at supercurriculars and maybe just pick up a hobby that you are genuinely interested in like learning a musical instrument

5) I would take a look at this thread - "Are these GCSEs good enough for x" - the guide but I would say that your GCSEs are important but are not the be all and end all.

6) I don't know because I haven't applied
Reply 2
Hi,

What Oxford are looking for is evidence that you have thought about and sought out opportunities to explore your chosen subject beyond the curriculum.

They're interested in seeing your commitment to the subject and learning how you think. Anything you can demonstrate this with is great - and there's loads you'll already have done.