The Student Room Group

In v=ab^t. What does b represent. Logb is the gradient I think but what is b. Thanks

In v=ab^t. What does b represent. Logb is the gradient I think but what is b. Thanks
Reply 1
Original post by maggiehodgson
For the t-v relationship, its an exponential curve where b is the base and a is v(0) so the initial value. So if you increase t by 1, then y will scaled by being multiplied by b so
y(t+1) = b*y(t)

However, when you take logs you get
ln(v) = ln(a) + t*ln(b)
so the t-ln(v) relationship is linear with gradient ln(b) and "y"-intercept ln(a).
(edited 1 month ago)
Original post by mqb2766
For the t-v relationship, its an exponential curve where b is the base and a is v(0) so the initial value. So if you increase t by 1, then y will scaled by being multiplied by b so
y(t+1) = b*y(t)
However, when you take logs you get
ln(v) = ln(a) + t*ln(b)
so the t-ln(v) relationship is linear with gradient ln(b) and "y"-intercept ln(a).
I’m new to this version of tsr so perhaps I’ve already posted a reply. Apologies if I have.

Here is the actual maths question. I’m interested in b) ii) image.jpg

image.jpg
Reply 3
You have the linear equation (all log base 10)
log(y) = log(p) + t*log(q) = 4.8 + t*0.05
So
log(p) = 4.8
log(q) = 0.05
so
p = 10^4.8
q = 10^0.05 (must be slightly greater than 1, have you done 10^0.5?)
as its a "compound interest" type question (q-1)*100 would give the percentage "interest" each year. Each year, the price is multipled by q, so if it equals 1 it does not change. If its <1 the price decreases, if its >1 the price increases ... Similarly, taking logs, the log(v) graph would go up if log(q)>0 and down if log(q)<0 and be flat if log(q)=0.

Note for c) if you were unsure, you could get the 2010 price using the log(V) equation, then do 10^*. If you made an error on p and q, that part would not be affected.
(edited 1 month ago)
Thanks for pointing out my calculation error.