The Student Room Group

No relevant experience, no internship planned, Going into 3rd year. What do I do?

Hi,

I'm about to finish the second year of my BSc Economics and Accounting degree at a decent uni (top 30). The problem is I have no 'relevant' work experience and I have no internships/placements planned. I've worked in retail and I'm part of a uni society, but I'm afraid that these aren't going to be enough to help get me a job out of uni. I was hoping to break into the finance industry (maybe tax/audit etc) or accounting, or maybe even government economics, but I feel like missing out on internships has really hurt my chances at this. If anyone has been in a similar position, please give me some advice on what you did or what you think I should do?

Thanks
Same position as you. In third year and have limited work experience or internships, aside from things I did before coming to university.

I've applied for graduate schemes that are less competitive and have somewhat positive results, although nothing has been confirmed yet.

If all else fails I will likely move abroad and do a TEFL course or working holiday visa in Canada or New Zealand.
Original post by AIex4
Hi,

I'm about to finish the second year of my BSc Economics and Accounting degree at a decent uni (top 30). The problem is I have no 'relevant' work experience and I have no internships/placements planned. I've worked in retail and I'm part of a uni society, but I'm afraid that these aren't going to be enough to help get me a job out of uni. I was hoping to break into the finance industry (maybe tax/audit etc) or accounting, or maybe even government economics, but I feel like missing out on internships has really hurt my chances at this. If anyone has been in a similar position, please give me some advice on what you did or what you think I should do?

Thanks