The Student Room Group

Queen Mary vs Warwick?

Hi

I'm an international student and have got offers from QMUL and Warwick for LLB Law(undergraduate). Now, Im confused as to which one to choose as I find both the law schools equally good. Since I'm not from the UK, I would like to seek guidance from some of the local students of UK.

In my country, people are well aware of Warwick due to it's good reputation for the Business and Economics courses but no one knows about its law programmme.
I would also like to know if a degree from QMUL is well recognized over there?

Also, I would also like to disclose that finally I intend to practice corporate law. So, does that make any difference on basing my decision or are these universities both good for corporate law.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
If I were you, I would base your decision on the location.

Both schools are equally respectable, Warwick's overall reputation may command more prestige, but QMUL's Law Dept really is the star of the university.

I'd base the decision on whether you want to live in London, the world's legal capital or in Warwick, which I'm told is essentially a field with the nearest town being Leamington Spa :smile:

They're both campus universities and QMUL really is special in that it's the only campus uni in London, so acts as a little retreat if the city life gets too much for you!

I don't think you would be disadvantaged in any way if you chose Warwick over QMUL or vice versa! It's all down to personal preference :smile:
Reply 2
Warwick's reputation for Law > QM's reputation for Law.

In the 2009 cycle, I firmed Warwick over QM, but I regretted it since reputation was the only thing persuading me to go for Warwick... good thing I messed up. Personally, given the choice again, I'd firm QM over Warwick because the difference in reputation isn't great enough to justify me living in Coventry/Leamington Spa/the Warwick campus for three years.
Original post by ilamba1
Hi