The Student Room Group

Ordinary Degree but 2yrs teaching abroad with British Council; will I get on PGCE?

Hi

First of all I am new to the whole forum malarky so be gentle.

My dilemma is this:

I graduated from Sheffield Hallam in 2009 with an ordinary degree. It was not my intention but I got downgraded as one of my pieces of coursework was named as plagiarism in my 2nd year. It was a core module, research methods (basically a module about how to research) I naively took this as being an unimportant module and churned out some rubbish thinking it doesn't matter just get it done. My other modules were around the 2:1 2:2 mark consistently. I got told I would not be able to get an honours degree but still I went on to do my dissertation and complete my 3rd year (I wanted to at least test myself) and achieved a 2:1 mark for it.

I want to get onto a PGCE course in the next year but I know this mark for my degree will affect my application greatly. Will it be bolstered somewhat by the fact I have been teaching Adults and Teenagers English abroad for the last two years for the British Council or will this be overlooked? I'm looking into doing a PGCE in secondary Design Technology.

Any info on where I should go from here is very much welcomed!

Thank you all
Original post by mcroker1
Hi

First of all I am new to the whole forum malarky so be gentle.

My dilemma is this: