The Student Room Group

AQA Maths A-Level (URGENT)

Hi,
How many exams are there for A Level AQA Maths? (i'm a first year student studying A Levels next year)

What are the topics for each exam?

useful revision tips/ websites?
Is A Level Maths very hard?/ Which module did you find the hardest?

Many thanks in advance :smile:
Yeah and how is this urgent?

Original post by pink.elephant
Hi,
How many exams are there for A Level AQA Maths? (i'm a first year student studying A Levels next year)

What are the topics for each exam?

useful revision tips/ websites?
Is A Level Maths very hard?/ Which module did you find the hardest?

uh well you have to do core 1 and 2 in AS followed by an applied module, normally statistics 1 or mechanics 1 depending on your school. In A2 you do core 3 and 4, with again, an applied module. In total there are six modules over the two years.
Core 1 is mainly an extension of what you learnt in GCSE whereas in core 2 it is an extension of core 1 with additional stuff like logarithms, introduction of radians within trigonometry and a few sequences.
In terms of difficulty, it is subjective, so far it has been pretty easy and enjoyable, but im weird like that cuz i love it! If you got an A* or A at GCSE or predicted, then the jump shouldn't be too large. Id say core 3 is difficult, just because there are so many new things, but it is pretty fun. You may find the applied modules like mechanics 1 difficult or easy depending on if you like physics, statistics 1 has generally been viewed as the easy module, which i would agree with. Buts it's very boring (IMO).