The Student Room Group

IGCSEs... how many?

Hi everyone
I am currently an A level student in Jordan and am willing to study medicine in England.
I took seven IGCSEs (international gcse) last year, getting a stars in all seven of them.
My question is: are seven a stars at igcse level enough to get me medicine in a top university such as the Imperial college? or do i have to take more?
I think that most colleges view igcses as equivalent to gcses, so tell me if seven gcses is enough.

Another thing i would like to know is if top universities accept Edexcel A level.
Thanks.
Original post by moh luther
Hi everyone
I am currently an A level student in Jordan and am willing to study medicine in England.
I took seven IGCSEs (international gcse) last year, getting a stars in all seven of them.
My question is: are seven a stars at igcse level enough to get me medicine in a top university such as the Imperial college? or do i have to take more?
I think that most colleges view igcses as equivalent to gcses, so tell me if seven gcses is enough.

Another thing i would like to know is if top universities accept Edexcel A level.
Thanks.

7a* is very good, congrats:smile: those doing igcses outside the uk usually don't take as many subjects as those in the uk, because you are limited by the school. 7 should be ok but medical applicants will usually have around 9-10. Hopefully someone can set me straight on this
Edexcel is definitely accepted by uk boards but honestly if you have the option of cie I would recommend that. Exams are slightly easier and marking is a lot more standardised.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
what are the differences between igcse and gcse? or are you from outside uk but the educatin system is the same as uk?...sorry but i'm curious
Original post by Yux
what are the differences between igcse and gcse? or are you from outside uk but the educatin system is the same as uk?...sorry but i'm curious