The Student Room Group

GCSEs & Medicine

Okay so are my GCSE's good enough for medicine at uni?!

Eng lit A
Eng lang B
Maths A
Core Science A
Additional Science A
Further Additional Science A
Spanish A
ICT A
History A*
Art B

Currently I am an AS Student, and taking Biology/Chemistry/Maths/Extended Project (on cardiovascular diseases). I am hoping to get all A grades at AS, and my university prospects are:

Brighton and Sussex medical school

Kings College school of medicine

Barts and the London (queens mary) school of medicine

St Georges University London medical school

Are my GCSEs okay for the unis I want, providing I get A's at AS/A2? Also my extended project is equivalent to half an AS but does it count for most med school (especially those listed above)?

Thankyou
Original post by Rhema

Eng lit A
Eng lang B
Maths A
Core Science A
Additional Science A
Spanish A
ICT A
History A*
Art B

Currently I am an AS Student, and taking Biology/Chemistry/Maths/Extended Project (on cardiovascular diseases). I am hoping to get all A grades at AS, and my university prospects are:

Are my GCSEs okay for the unis I want, providing I get A's at AS/A2? Also my extended project is equivalent to half an AS but does it count for most med school (especially those listed above)?

Thankyou

Yes those GCSEs are good enough for plenty of medical schools. However its too soon to narrow your options down so much, it will depend hugely on what you get in the UKCAT
Reply 2
Original post by Rhema

Eng lit A
Eng lang B
Maths A
Core Science A
Additional Science A
Spanish A
ICT A
History A*
Art B

Thankyou

Your GCSEs seem OK, you'll need to investigate the exact requirements as these can differ from uni to uni. Be sure to check out this useful link:

http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/content.php?r=15897-medical-school-gcse-requirements