The Student Room Group

Liverpool or Edinburgh?

I am an aspiring Vet student applying this year. I am definitely applying to Bristol and Nottingham, and the RVC.
I loved the atmosphere at Bristol and how practical the course at Nottingham seemed. I am also super interested in research, animal welfare and conservation.
I dont know whether to put Liverpool or Edinburgh as my fourth option?
I live too far to visit either and left it too late to book affordable flights.
Please can you tell me about your experiences at either university with accommodation, courses, atmosphere etc.

Thanks
Hey, liv student here.

Liverpool is a wonderful city, loads to do, good atmosphere, and the course is a new course and relatively well run. Accommodation mostly is new, and you can choose to either integrate with other students or vet students. Liverpool you spend 3 year in Liverpool and the final 2 years at leahurst on the Wirral, so you move to the country for your last 2 years of uni. We have links with chester zoo (apparently, we have had lectures from them as well) and the research carried out here is pretty top notch, but that’s something you do a PhD in not during your course here. I can’t comment on ed, I know Ed is a beautiful city but I’ve never lived there. Overall liverpool is a super friendly city, loads to do, nightlife is brilliant and everything is close together, and you get that change of scenery in your 4th as 5th year.
Liverpool students also can do clinical ems from year one which no other uni does, and we get taught clinical skills from day one too. It’s a pretty hands on course, and is integrated from day one to make learning easier so each year you build on the last years topics.

If you want to know any more pm me. I’ve done 3 years at Liverpool already so I’m pretty used to the place now!
As above, Liverpool - fabulous student city, and great Uni that feels really inclusive and 'un-posh'.

PS> and the housing is cheap too.