The Student Room Group

Failed Midwifery Interview

Hi, can anyone help me prep for my next midwifery interview as I have just failed my first one 🙈 Im a mature student with all of the qualifications and volunteering experience. At the time I felt like I answered all the questions well and when I asked for feedback they advised I apply my own skills and qualities to my answers. Can anyone give some advice on how to smash the next interview?
Original post by Taz2411
Hi, can anyone help me prep for my next midwifery interview as I have just failed my first one 🙈 Im a mature student with all of the qualifications and volunteering experience. At the time I felt like I answered all the questions well and when I asked for feedback they advised I apply my own skills and qualities to my answers. Can anyone give some advice on how to smash the next interview?

Hi

Your feedback suggested to apply " your own kills and qualities " then therefore try to address this with revising on this. You use what you were asked etc from this interview and take it into your others with tweaking things they told you about.

You won't be the only person to have failed a midwifing or nursing interview.
Interviews for midwifing is usually tough to get thorough because of how limited numbers universities take in each year, I been there for both nursing and midwifing interviews and I failed/ got rejected each time.
I did eventually get offered for midwifing and I'm now a registered midwife.
My midwifing interview was face to face and lasted almost a morning as did the question & answer part, then did 6 mini stations with 5/10 minutes on each but that was well before covid19 as you's don't get long with it at the moment.

Good luck with the others as do your upmost best ok.

I don't know what sort of things you were asked etc at your interview but here's some that you might be asked ok.......

Common interview questions
Why have you chosen to become a midwife?
What is the role of a midwife?