The Student Room Group

I was caught dodging fare in London

Hi, so I’m a former student choosing a Master’s degree. Currently I work within the Civil Service. I’ve had to move back from Manchester to London due to a very sick parent who is on end of life care. I do not possess a wallet and I’m prone to losing things. So my mother had placed them in a card holder. This was my fathers freedom pass holder. His faded card was in there, to my surprise when I was passing through the barriers it’s been picked up I was using a fraudulent ticket (someone else’s freedom pass)

As soon as I was caught I complied with them and they informed me I will have to pay a fine and investigate further. I’m unsure how many times this has occurred. If I get fined I will have to pay a penalty. Even paying the penalty will gain a Criminal Record. I don’t know what to do. At this moment I’m using this job to help my family. I will lose this job if I get a criminal conviction. What can I do to fix this? I’m willing to pay any fine. This will end my life if I’m unable to find a way to not lose my job.
Reply 1
As a previous TFL inspector - they will try and prosecute you for this. It’s fraudulent use of a freedom pass and regardless of the long winded story at the end of the day it’s your responsibility to ensure you are using the correct pass.

Fraudulent use of a pass as an adult does not allow the option of a penalty fare.

If by some grace they offer you and out of court settlement I suggest you pay it and count your lucky stars. However, sorry to be the barer of bad news but you are likely to be taken to court.
Reply 2
Original post by KaiusKazarian