The Student Room Group

University recommendations for an international student hoping to do IR 🥺

Hi everyone, I'm an international student interested in studying international relations at an undergraduate level. I'm an IB student currently in the second year of the diploma programme (taking my exams in November this year), but I'm only applying next year due to military service obligations. My stats are not particularly great, so I'm wondering if it's realistic for me to even consider some of the universities I've been looking at. I finished DP1 with a 29/42. Because I'm not applying this cycle, my school isn't providing me with my predicted grades. I performed pretty meh in the mock exams - including my estimates for TOK/EE I think my total score would be around 31-32 with a 666 for my Higher Level subjects. I'm really ramping up my revision schedule and I hope to finish in the mid to high 30s for my final IB grade. My school's average is usually around 38. These are some of my extracurriculars - I directed a short film, did sound design and editing for a different short film, produced some videos for the local chapter of a global environmental conservation organisation, was a member of the logistics team for a local film festival, helped create a website for my school... and that's about it :P

Based on my targeted final IB grade, I hope to apply to Warwick, York, Durham, St. Andrews, Exeter and Bath (I know I only have five choices, these are just what I'm considering applying to atm). I'm open to more suggestions, especially for unis with strong IR programmes that may be a little less competitive than the options above should I miss my target. Furthermore, even if I do achieve my target IB score (which would hover around the typical offer range for these universities), are these choices unviable targets considering my weak previous grades and extracurriculars?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated :smile:
(edited 7 months ago)