The Student Room Group

IR personal statement

Hi all, so I’m on a gap year as I didn’t know what I wanted to study, but I have now chosen international relations for my degree, as I find it a very interesting field that has an ever increasing relevance in todays world of geopolitics that impacts us in so many ways we don’t realise. I’ve always been quite fond of learning about how countries cooperate with eachother and also modern conflict. I studied the a levels psychology and sociology and have fairly good argumentative essay writing skills, and have read many books on countries that piqued my interest such as afghanistan, pakistan, russia, etc.

My issue is, I don’t know how I could really structure this personal statement, i do think I should get some experience even if it’s virtual so my application is stronger but it’s also not my first time writing a PS, so I’m not completely stuck, however some pointers would be amazing, especially if you already study IR, thanks so much !! I’ll also have a look at the example statements already out there.
unis I’m looking to apply to include kcl, ucl, southampton, surrey, etc
Original post by user787
Hi all, so I’m on a gap year as I didn’t know what I wanted to study, but I have now chosen international relations for my degree, as I find it a very interesting field that has an ever increasing relevance in todays world of geopolitics that impacts us in so many ways we don’t realise. I’ve always been quite fond of learning about how countries cooperate with eachother and also modern conflict. I studied the a levels psychology and sociology and have fairly good argumentative essay writing skills, and have read many books on countries that piqued my interest such as afghanistan, pakistan, russia, etc.