The Student Room Group

A Level Classical Civilisation

Im about to start studying my level classical civilisation course, and (other than common knowledge) am a complete newbie to it!
I not too sure how this site works yet, but if anyone is willing to help or give tips (either now or in the future) please let me know!

Its online studying so Im all solo pretty much, and YouTube videos can only go so far lol
Reply 1
Glad to hear you are studying class civ. I didn't do it myself, I did A Level Classical Greek (not very well as it turned out) before doing Classics at uni.

Have you checked the A-Level specification? If this is the OCR qualification, then I think this is the right one. It provides a lot of useful detail of the specific topics and themes you're expected to know for each of the components within the A-Level that you study (see in particular pages 9-14, 16-31, and 33-44). Obviously which of those pages is relevant to you depends on which components you select. (Have you decided?)

If I were you I would use those topics and themes as a guide to prioritise and select the way you study. There are some useful reading suggestions at the back of the specification (pages 59-61).

Besides those books, there are some good online resources. I would encourage you to start with very general overview-type stuff which gives you a broad idea of the literature and the topics you're studying.

I see that you have to study one of either the Iliad, the Odyssey or the Aeneid. Here is a good series of lectures on the Aeneid which is packed with info and not hard to read. Have you got access to the Oxford Classical Dictionary online? If so, and if you choose Iliad or Odyssey instead, read their entry on 'Homer'. (If you haven't got access, lmk and I can send you the article if interested, along with any others you need). Wikipedia entries on individual Greek plays are generally quite good quality and worth reading as a starting point.