The Student Room Group

First year struggling with history at an RG

Hey, i am currently in my first year of history too and I feel completely overwhelmed and like I am drowning. The reading feels like alot and although i could choose my modules, i just dont find them very interesting and zone out allllll the time when i do my reading. Im really trying but i dont know if it is too early in the academic year to tell. The reading and assignsments being due in a couple of weeks are really stressing me out. I know its not meant to be easy and college was obviously different but it just feels like way too much at once. I hadnt even started university yet and the week before the lecturers were sending me 30 page readings and documentarys to watch for the first lectures/seminars. This is my second time trying university, last year i dropped out of journalism at another uni so I dont really have any choice to do anything else or move unis etc. this year is way too intense already. I cant tell if anyone else is struggling too but i just dont feel motivated to do the work. Everyone else seems to be enjoying it and have meaningful input in the seminars when i didnt even understand the readings. I feel like they have just left us as it is and dont know if this just because it is a russel group uni but there is literally little to no academic support at all. Finding it really hard to make friends too. I dont know what else i would study, im not really interested in anything, i just had to choose something because my parents wouldnt let me not go back & i enjoyed history at a level but now this feels like hell! I go to my academic advisors office hours every week since he teaches one of my modules and he doesnt help, never actually answers my questions, i never leave his office knowing more than when i went in and its getting really frustrating. Questionning why I was once interested in history at all :// any advice? Does it get better?
(edited 5 months ago)