The Student Room Group

What GCSES should I pick so I can be the most successful in app/game developing?

Im in year 9 and get my GCSE sheet tommorow.

Before you suggest anything, I want to say a couple things.

1. I don’t care if you think it is really hard, I don’t care if it is complicated or stressful.
Trust me, if it’s for my future, I’ll handle it.

2. For some reason my school has refused MY YEAR SPECIFICALLY a computer science GCSE. So don’t suggest that as it’ll just hurt more 😭

3. I want advice for GCSES for my app developing future. I will be going to college and university. I am a top student in maths, I usually get over 90%.
Original post by teejayhi55

1. I don’t care if you think it is really hard, I don’t care if it is complicated or stressful.

2. For some reason my school has refused MY YEAR SPECIFICALLY a computer science GCSE. So don’t suggest that as it’ll just hurt more 😭

3. I want advice for GCSES for my app developing future. I will be going to college and university. I am a top student in maths, I usually get over 90%.

Hi @teejayhi55

It is such a shame that your school won't be offering computer science! But don’t let that get you down.

I guess the other GCSEs that are standing out to me are Physics (develops your problem-solving and critical thinking) and ICT (for obvious reasons). Every school is different, for me doing Physics as its own GCSE meant that I had to do Biology and Chemistry as seprate GCSEs too. Always double check your options and communicate with your teachers.

It would also be beneficial to sign up for some free online courses that are more related to what you want to do. Over school holidays, maybe pick a course and make sure you keep a record of your participation; they may even provide you with a certificate!

Wishing you all the best!

Anastasia,
BCU Student Rep.
Hi :smile: