The Student Room Group

Dilemma between choosing medical or computing science field

I'm an S5 SQA student, with 5 Highers (Biology, Chemistry, Computing Science, Mathematics, English), aiming for 5 A's this year. I'm much less concerned about achieving aspired grades, but more so deciding on my career pathway, and I'd like to know if anyone else has been in this situation before.
I really enjoy programming in my Computing Science class, and it feels like it's a lifestyle that would suit me; to be able to work on a laptop/pc from home/some nice environment, however I have personally went through a lot of heavy medical things, so I also find myself enjoying (most of) Biology this year, and Chemistry, thinking becoming a Doctor of some sorts would be great as well.
I understand that it's a vast difference between the 2 careers, with doctors/medicinary being more stressful for example, perhaps including salaries too, but I'm heavily hesitant on deciding which one is better for me. Any input is appreciated :smile:
(edited 2 months ago)
Original post by gabberb
I'm an S5 SQA student, with 5 Highers (Biology, Chemistry, Computing Science, Mathematics, English), aiming for 5 A's this year. I'm much less concerned about achieving aspired grades, but more so deciding on my career pathway, and I'd like to know if anyone else has been in this situation before.
I really enjoy programming in my Computing Science class, and it feels like it's a lifestyle that would suit me; to be able to work on a laptop/pc from home/some nice environment, however I have personally went through a lot of heavy medical things, so I also find myself enjoying (most of) Biology this year, and Chemistry, thinking becoming a Doctor of some sorts would be great as well.