The Student Room Group

Should I take 5 A-levels?

I am currently almost at the end of IGCSEs, and am predicted A*s for all 11 subjects. I am indecisive as to my decisions for future career path and university, and I do well in both humanity and essay-based subjects as well as math. I want to keep my options open, but am unsure if I will actually be able to handle the workload. As to the actual subjects, I am planning to choose Maths, Further Maths, History, Physics and Economics. Do you think it is worth it? I am also studying Russian in my free time which is very work-heavy.
No you shouldn't. You don't need more than 4 maximum
Honestly with Maths, FM + one other subject you'll keep most doors open anyway. With 5 subjects you'll probably end up limiting your options by virtue of stretching yourself too thin.
Original post by lila__
I am currently almost at the end of IGCSEs, and am predicted A*s for all 11 subjects. I am indecisive as to my decisions for future career path and university, and I do well in both humanity and essay-based subjects as well as math. I want to keep my options open, but am unsure if I will actually be able to handle the workload. As to the actual subjects, I am planning to choose Maths, Further Maths, History, Physics and Economics. Do you think it is worth it? I am also studying Russian in my free time which is very work-heavy.
Honestly I don't think you should take 5 at all. The work load is huge and therefore really difficult to cope with. I feel as though even taking 4 is a stretch but I see what you mean by wanting to keep your options open so for that reason I am saying 4 max, but I am defiantly not recommending 5 under any circumstances, it will just accumulate and as a result stress you out.
Reply 4
Please don't take 5. The work load for 3 is a lot to handle in itself.
Original post by lila__