The Student Room Group

Are these GCSE grades good enough to study medicine?

I want to become a doctor. Are these GCSE grades good enough to become a doctor: 6 A's, 5 B's and 1 C.

I'm currently studying for A-levels in Biology, Chemistry, French and Maths.

I'm doing great in my french and maths. However in class tests I keep getting C's and D's in biology and chemistry.

Do you think I could become a doctor? even if I get a lot of work experience?

Please be honest.

Thank you in advance,
I'm not studying medicine yet, but my GCSEs of 2.5A*, 4A, 3B were enough to get me an interview today... So I wouldn't write yourself off yet :smile:
Honestly, I think you'd be at a disadvantage. There are a lot of very good applicants for medicine, and I think you'd be below the band they were looking for. How about natural sciences or just chemistry and biology themselves?
Reply 3
You know how competitive medicine is and how many people there will be with straight A*s. Your GCSEs are good, but they're not fantastic. However, if you get some good work experience and do well in your A Levels your application will be a lot more favourable.

If you're not doing well in bio and chem, are you sure you want to do medicine at uni? If you're struggling now, you might be in trouble at uni.
Reply 4
If you apply smartly then you'll stand a very good chance. Some Universities like Birmingham and Oxford love GCSEs whereas Southampton and St. George's require you meet a criteria (which isn't too demanding) and if you pass it, they won't pay any further attention to your GCSEs.

I suggest focusing on your A-levels/extra-curricular/volunteering and work experience.
Reply 5
Original post by indie94
I want to become a doctor. Are these GCSE grades good enough to become a doctor: 6 A's, 5 B's and 1 C.

I'm doing great in my french and maths. However in class tests I keep getting C's and D's in biology and chemistry.

Please be honest.

Thank you in advance,