The Student Room Group

Doing an A level in a year

Hello, I am an AS Student (going into A2 very soon though).

The courses I take currently are:
AS Government & Politics
AS Economics
AS Classical Civilisation
AS English Literature

I am unsure as to which subjects I want to continue with next year, which is why I'm on here, gathering opinions and advice from you all (hopefully).

I really want to do Politics at degree level and know that English Literature isn't really going to work well with Politics and so I will not be continuing with it next year.

I thought at the beginning that A Level Economics would compliment it well, however the course really drains me. I enjoy it but my MTG is a C and so I am uncertain whether or not to drop it next year, also.

I obviously can't just do two A Levels if I drop the courses mentioned above, so I thought about picking up AS and A2 Sociology next year. I hear that it works well with Politics? Or should I just stick to just dropping Literature, carrying on with Politics, Classics and Economics?

Please help, I'm so confused!
Hey! I do AS sociology (nearly finished) and I'm not trying to put you off but it involves so many notes and sociologist names etc. You're going to find it difficult to do it all in a year! I currently have a whole massive file worth of notes and case studies etc for SCLY2. If you do decide to to it, I got a 90% A grade in the January exam so I would be happy to help! :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Why would English Lit not work well with Politics? I would never be able to write essays as well if I didn't take English Lit, and battled my way through the 3k coursework essay in A2. Plus there's plenty of politics embedded in many great texts. Some food for thought.
Reply 3