The Student Room Group

Question about studying medicine

Hi there,

I am currently studying the first year of college and I am currently studying the following subjects: Chemistry, Product design, Computing and Music Technology. I have been researching into different university courses recently and medicine seems to be one I would like to do as I really enjoy chemistry, its one of my favourite subjects through out GCSE and now in college I love it even more.

My question is if I do really well at AS and A level chemistry will I be able to do a medicine course without another science or maths A level.

If its not possible is there anything I could do to be able to do the medicine course? Because at the moment I am a bit stuck :confused:
Reply 1
Original post by tastybagels
Hi there,

I am currently studying the first year of college and I am currently studying the following subjects: Chemistry, Product design, Computing and Music Technology. I have been researching into different university courses recently and medicine seems to be one I would like to do as I really enjoy chemistry, its one of my favourite subjects through out GCSE and now in college I love it even more.

My question is if I do really well at AS and A level chemistry will I be able to do a medicine course without another science or maths A level.

If its not possible is there anything I could do to be able to do the medicine course? Because at the moment I am a bit stuck :confused:

It is known that most unis want another science ( biology) with your chemistry a-level to do medicine. I am not sure whether there are unis who would accept your a-levels but I might be wrong. You could also do a foundation year and then study medicine which would take 6 years time. This would be an ideal choice for you with that A-levels. Maths a-level is not compulsory to do medicine, so its clearly your choice unless you want to apply to Oxbridge.
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 2