The Student Room Group
Learning at Imperial College London
Imperial College London
London

1+3 course - Wellcome Trust Infection and Immunity

Hi,

I was wondering if there is anyone currently on the 1+3 course funded by the Wellcome Trust. I was hoping you might be able to give me more of an insight into the course (past what is on the website) and how you are finding it. Also, what courses did people complete for their UG and with what grade? And any application tips?

I am looking for a course that has the opportunity to work with various bacteria to analyse their method of infection and how they effectively evade the immune system. From what I can see on the course site, this seems to be on offer.

I'm currently in my third year of a Forensic Science course. A large part of the second year was based around Molecular Biology and that is when I really realised what I enjoyed and wanted to do. My third year project is based on identifying certain proteins in bacteria, and expressing and visualising them with a view to understand how a potential target site works in different genera. I've been doing a lot of further study to understand the areas that haven't been covered in the FS course.

I know a lot of people who would apply for courses like this would come from a biology/biomed/biochem background. I partly feel like I may be coming from the wrong UG course, and while I am in the process of writing up my application, I am concerned as to how it'll be received.
Hi there,

I know I am a bit late to answer to you post, since the application process is closed. Did you applied to the program? Do you know anything already?
I am very interested in this PhD program for several reasons, but I am starting to get worried. The interviews will be in 20 days and since I don't live in the UK I will need to book a flight...