The Student Room Group

Finding Medicine really difficult- questioning my desires

Hello there, I am a first year medical student having come straight from A-levels and achieved A*AA in my a-levels. However, I am finding the course really really taxing and feel like constantly working in order to be able to do what is required of me and be at the standard of the sheer number of graduates that there are on my course.
This has prompted a number of feelings from within questioning my desires for medicine. My original reasons for medicine were that I was interested in science and wanted to combine this with interacting with individuals and helping make a positive difference. Through thought, I have been potentially considering doing a Human Biology degree/Medical Sciences degree and follow the career of teaching instead as this would still provide me with what I wanted to get out of medicine. Can anyone tell me if they think this is a ludicrous decision and how they find workload/lifestyle for human biology/medical sciences compared with Medicine? Thanks.
Reply 1
A degree is meant to be difficult, if it's difficult but you're working hard and getting good grades, then I don't see a reason to switch to a 'lesser, not as hard course' unless you're not finding what you're learning fun or interesting
Hard work will pay off OP
Reply 2
I'm doing a Biomedical Science course and I feel extremely taxed too. I think we just need to work hard and keep motivated.
Reply 3
Anyone could become a physician if it was easy. You are fortunate to be in the position of being able to complain about the difficulty of learning the profession. The biomedical sciences will not substitute for the experience of clinical medicine encourage that as an option. Enjoy the struggle- it's worth it in the end.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4
Original post by ofudge