Reply 3
Original post by Jooooshy
What's the answer in the textbook?

0.155 apparently...

Original post by Ranibizumab
What work have you done so far?

In 2nd picture is what I've done

Posted from TSR Mobile
Sorry, I'm a noob! Sorry. Ok just let me check I can get the answer before I tell you any info that might be wrong. :tongue:
Ok I've got it. You working is correct, there's just one thing you forgot.

Hint:
The dice throw is a discrete variable. You are modelling it with a continuous distribution.
Reply 6
Ok I've got it. You working is correct, there's just one thing you forgot.

Hint:
The dice throw is a discrete variable. You are modelling it with a continuous distribution.

He's modelling the mean. What method do you suggest?
He's modelling the mean. What method do you suggest?

The normal distribution N(3.5, 35/(12*70)) is being used to estimate the probability. It's a continuous distribution.
A dice throw is discrete.

When you model a discrete variable with a continuous distribution you need to apply a continuity correction.... :smile:
Reply 8
The normal distribution N(3.5, 35/(12*70)) is being used to estimate the probability. It's a continuous distribution.

When you model a discrete variable with a continuous distribution you need to apply a continuity correction.... :smile:

Ah forgive me, I didn't know cont. corrections came up in S2! I only did them in S3 :smile:
Ah forgive me, I didn't know cont. corrections came up in S2! I only did them in S3 :smile:

Lol no problem. Let me know if you need anymore help :smile:
Reply 10

Uses correction but still got it wrong. What went wrong

Edit: got it :smile: how do you know whether to add or minus 1/2n?
Posted from TSR Mobile
(edited 10 years ago)
Congrats! I'll try and draw an explanation on how you know how to add/subtract, hang on....
image.jpg

Ok I've tried to draw an explanation. This is how I have it clear in my head at least..... Does it make sense?
Reply 13
image.jpg