The Student Room Group

Not good enough for university maths?

I'm currently an A Level student; I've just finished the first year and done my AS exams. I have only recently decided, despite having enjoyed mathematics more than anything else, that maths was what I wanted to do, but after this fairly short while I am already severely doubting my ability to study the subject at a university level... to give a general idea of what I mean by university maths, I think I've enjoyed sufficient academic successes to be shooting for the higher end universities, having performed reasonably well at a pretty awful state school. But I feel that all my achievement in maths is strongly divorced from any notion of mathematical talent; GCSE is of course too easy to consider as an indication of ability or potential university success and my A* predictions and good AS mock performance are almost undoubtedly the result of hard work over true skill. I was way above my peers throughout this year generally but the majority of them did next-to nothing, and I was out-performed or equalled by some in an arguably more indicative Mathematics Challenge (UKMT)