The Student Room Group

Univeristy With Depression

Hi, I recently started studying music production at Leeds College of Music. I was half excited, half terrified when I went and this was a completely out of the blue move from me. I am 21 years old and I would never have expected myself to go to university in my wildest dreams. I got bad GCSE's and when it came to college, I started noticing early symptons of depression. Once college was over, I was going through a bad break up and my university course I was due to start got cancelled due to poor interest. This made me wonder what I actually wanted to do in life, did I want to do this course that I was about to enrol on? I then went onto job seekers and nearly half a year later I had a job and I was so proud. 2 years down the line I began to think maybe there was more for me than a boring job, so I applied for university to do something that I've never done academically before (and a passion of mine) and that was music. I was amazed when I actually got onto the course and I was mega proud.

When it came to starting university I had the obvious nerves and when I was so scared I didn't take much notice of it. Months had passed and I was struggling to get out of bed for lectures and I had no motivation at all. I am dreading going back. I have made no friends at university, and I hate every moment I am there. I have done well in some of my assignments but I hate it. I have this idea that university is for me, but of course I am assuming the worst if I don't continue to go. The thought of going back makes me feel physically sick and I don't know what to do. I think I definitely want to drop out but I want to know if people have dropped out before? and how was it for you?
Stick it out if you can bro! :smile:
See the psych services at the uni.
Reply 2