The Student Room Group

What extracurricular activities are best for investment banking?

Apart from getting high grades, going to a target uni and having a passion for finance, what extracurricular activities should I do to improve my CV for banking internships? I know everyone is part of an investment society but should I play a particular sport? I'm currently in sixth form so I am not sure what clubs I should join- I currently do a lot of volunteering and play badminton but I'm not that good at it so I won't be winning any trophies soon!

What can I do to show communication and leadership skills?
I'm particularly interested in trading.
Reply 1
Really? No response?
Original post by Coollad1999
Apart from getting high grades, going to a target uni and having a passion for finance, what extracurricular activities should I do to improve my CV for banking internships? I know everyone is part of an investment society but should I play a particular sport? I'm currently in sixth form so I am not sure what clubs I should join- I currently do a lot of volunteering and play badminton but I'm not that good at it so I won't be winning any trophies soon!

What can I do to show communication and leadership skills?
I'm particularly interested in trading.

The ones you care about the most...

Obviously the cliche answer is join a finance or investment society; but that's not enough. Do something that interests you and take a leading role.

Stop trying to fit things nicely into different 'boxes' that will gice you an edge. Think creatively about what you like doing, what you're good at and how you can show this to recruiters.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by hoping4Astars
Well I'm good at badminton but I'm not good enough to be coaching or leading the club at school. I volunteer at charity shops and do charity fundraising events but they are all run by someone else. I don't much big achievements in any extracurricular activities to be honest.