The Student Room Group

Choosing between Maths and Maths+CS

Hi, I have something of a dilemma with regard to my course choices. Before I begin, I want to make it clear that I love Maths and Maths+CS absolutely equally.

The deadline to choose my degree is approaching, and I'm stuck between the two. Since I'm terrible at geometry, but great at logic, I score much higher on the MAT version for Maths+CS applicants than on the version for straight Maths applicants. This makes me inclined to apply for M+CS, but that would mean that I'd be applying for a degree with (a) more competition and (b) a CS interview on top of a maths interview (I don't think I'd do too well at a CS interview). At the same time, the impact of the MAT score on admission chances cannot be underestimated. So which one should I choose?

Before you say that I should just choose the one I love more, or that my decision should determine the exam and not the other way around, recall that I see them as equally awesome, so it's simply a matter of taking the path of least resistance. This isn't like applying to Classics because 40% of applicants get in, even though I don't like Classics, just to get into Oxford. It's choosing between paths that I'd genuinely enjoy, with a mind to maximize my chances of being able to pursue one of those paths.

Rather, it's choosing between applying for a course with fewer barriers to entry (only a maths interview, lower applicant-to-places ratio) but with a lower MAT score and a course with more competition, but with a higher MAT score.

Any advice?
Original post by tiwikiwi
Hi, I have something of a dilemma with regard to my course choices. Before I begin, I want to make it clear that I love Maths and Maths+CS absolutely equally.