Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi. I'm a year 12 student, and I'm unsure whether to take up biology as a 5th A-Level. I was one of the best students at GCSE and the teacher is being really kind by considering taking me up on the course so late. I'm currently doing maths, further maths, chemistry and physics: if I did biology I'd have to drop electronics, which I'm considering self-teaching (teacher hasn't signed me up to it yet - no issue dropping it).

I'm undecided on whether to do Medicine or Engineering. But if I'm applying for general engineering at Cambridge, would not doing the electronics AS self-taught and having done biology AS instead be a negative on my application? I already did electronics GCSE out of school anyway and got an A* - perhaps this would be more than enough, and electronics isn't necessary?

I reaaaally want to expand my options with biology, but I'm worried that not doing electronics A-level would hurt engineering prospects and risk not having enough on my personal statement to talk about that's relevant to engineering.