The Student Room Group

Need advice on my university applications- Please help!!!

Hello everyone,

I'm currently an A level student. I would like to do medicine after I finish my A levels. I am a bit worried about getting accepted at a university due to my bad IGCSE Grades (1A 1B 4C). I have been working hard the past 1.5 years and I am currently predicted for A*AB in (Biology, Chemistry and Physics).

These are some of my questions:
1) Is there a fair chance for me to get into a medical course at a university in the UK or atleast in Europe?
2) What are the things I can do other than grades that improve my applications?
3) Which are the universities I should consider applying to?

Thank you all for your time.

- Steven

Reply 1
Original post by Volibear
1) Sure, what are your GCSE grades in?
2) Have work experience, do well in the entrance exams, do well in your interview, write a good personal statement, apply strategically.
3) Not ones that place heavy emphasis on GCSE grades. Go for ones you have a chance of getting an offer from, have the teaching style you like, are in areas you like/can afford etc.

A Level Predicted Grades:
A* in Biology
A in Chemistry
B in Physics

AS Level:
A in Biology
A in Chemistry
B in Physics

IGCSE:
A in English
B in IT
C in Math
C in Chem
C in Physics
C in Biology
Original post by stevenza108
A Level Predicted Grades:
A* in Biology
A in Chemistry
B in Physics

AS Level:
A in Biology
A in Chemistry
B in Physics

IGCSE:
A in English
B in IT
C in Math
C in Chem
C in Physics
C in Biology

There are lots of unis across the UK that offer Medicine. Some have higher offers or lower offers than others.
Some who accept your gcse results may be in cities farther than you.
So you would probably have to travel or live in the city as Medicine is competitive.
Research the A TO B SCHEME!
Hope it helps.
Reply 3
Original post by Beautystyle12