The Student Room Group

Are my predicted grades good enough for oxford maths?

solved
(edited 4 years ago)
That is quite strong grade wise and I’m pretty sure they are good enough for Oxford. But you have to remember that although your grades are a factor, there are other things also like personal statement etc. There are these things Oxbridge like called “super-curriculars” where you just participate in stuff to do with your subject to show your dedication and passion for your subject etc, I don’t really know an example but I hope this helped.
Reply 2
You have A*s in the right subjects but MAT score and interview performance are what's important. If you get an offer it'll be for 2 A*s and an A, most likely.
Hola name name name,

Yes, you should apply with those grades if you wish to aim for a place at Oxford.

Brasenose Admissions

Original post by name name
Hi,
I am an international student in a British school who is applying for maths (2020 entry). Currently my predicted grades are

Maths & FM : A*
Chemistry & Physics : A (for physics I've got high mark enough for A* but the teacher said he won't give anyone A* for AS unless someone really wants it.)

Are these predicted grades satisfying the oxford maths standard or average? I'm really worried that they'd reject me although I believe I can get 4 A* at the end but my predicted grades are not that.

I also have 9 and A* GCSE maths and further maths (and decent grades for other 8 subjects), have been getting minimum gold award in UKMT for past 4 years. I am curious if this sounds good enough for oxford. In addition, is there anything else that I need to focus on other than interview preparation and MAT test?
Thank you for your advice.
Original post by name name