The Student Room Group

Attendance, anxiety and depression

I'm in my third year of architecture and really struggling with anxiety and depression. I've started therapy, but it's too soon to see any effects. Meanwhile, my teachers keep pressuring me to show up with more work (or just any work) because I fall under "oh you have so much potential your ideas are amazing you need to get this NOW". I missed almost a month of college because i just couldn't deal and was also pretty sick (physically) so my parents finally sent me for therapy, but i keep feeling the "get better already" pressure. Every time i try to work i keep getting panic attacks. I missed college today again because i couldn't face my teachers. My classmates KNOW that i was sick and couldn't work (even though no one at college knows about the anxiety) and purposely keep asking me about how much I've completed to make themselves feel better, because they've been present in class but have barely done any work, and "atleast I've done more than you". I really, really can't stand myself right now, I hate being this worthless sack of **** and very much want to quit college, but i really like (or liked) what i (used to) do. Then again, I really just hate everything these days, my music, my designs, me. Do i take a break? How do I catch up with this ****load of work? How do i not detest myself and everything around me?
Reply 1
It's great that you're in therapy. Stay focused and stick with it.
Have you mentioned it at uni? A tutor you can trust? Unfortunately, while they don't know, you will remain under a lot of pressure to up your game. Talking to a member of staff in the department will help find a way of sorting things out workwise while you work on getting things sorted in your personal life - whether it be extensions, deferrals or taking time out and coming back to it.
Reply 2
Original post by Emily_B