The Student Room Group

Will being president of a political party campus society look bad?

I'm the president of a political party's campus society. Will adding this onto my CV for finance roles look bad? I've got a lot of good experience to write about from my time as society president like forming relationships with MPs and organising events for 30+ students but I've heard that many ib/am/pe etc. don't want you to have a political leaning. However, as a Politics student surely they have assumed that I have political opinions given the reason why I'm studying politics.

I'll also be applying to internships and placements at these firms later this year.

Thank you
Reply 1
If it wasn't clear I'll be going into second year
Original post by adoodling
If it wasn't clear I'll be going into second year

Being president of a society in first year is a massive achievement
I doubt it’ll make you look bad, it’s an impressive thing to have accomplished. but I wouldn’t show how you lean on your cv. say what you’ve done but don’t name the party
As you said everyone expects you to have a political view, I very much doubt that you will be discriminated against because of your beliefs. At the end of the day, you got some valuable experiences that might set you apart from other grads, so the positives definitely outway any potential negatives
Reply 5
Potentially
It might depend on whether it's a "political party" they believe is going to materially damage their reputation being associated with e.g. BNP or something...

I don't really see that it's expected a politics student will be necessarily engaged in the practical matters of politics; I imagine at least some may merely be interested in it from an academic perspective.
Reply 7
Thank you everyone for your comments, I generally agree that it's a good thing as long as it's worded correctly.
(edited 3 years ago)