The Student Room Group

Part time job To help anxiety

Hi I’m going into Y13 in September

I’m thinking of getting a part time job to help with my anxiety as it will increase the number of interactions I have with people and I can experience a new environment.

But I was wondering will this have an effect on my grades at A2. I’m a student who works a lot harder than the average person to get the grades. I also need to get A*AA for uni which I have as my predicted grades. I’m just worried I’ll spend too much time over thinking about going to work to the point where it will hurt my grades more
Original post by Anonymous
Hi I’m going into Y13 in September

I’m thinking of getting a part time job to help with my anxiety as it will increase the number of interactions I have with people and I can experience a new environment.

But I was wondering will this have an effect on my grades at A2. I’m a student who works a lot harder than the average person to get the grades. I also need to get A*AA for uni which I have as my predicted grades. I’m just worried I’ll spend too much time over thinking about going to work to the point where it will hurt my grades more

Start off asap and if it gets too much, then you can quit. One day a week i.e Saturday job should be sufficient.
It is a good idea. Many people just let their anxiety and social skills remain poor and then it takes its toll at uni.
The alternative is to volunteer and do hobbies.
Your grades are still the most important though so if needed you could work till Christmas.
I'd get a part-time job in your position. It's a good way to develop social & time management skills. Also, you'll have some work experience under your belt. The end decision is up to you though.
I agree with 999tigger! Fab idea. You'll be fine A2 wise up until Jan/Feb next year which is when pressure is put on more. See how you feel around then.
Original post by 999tigger