The Student Room Group

My job is making me ill

So i’ve been working as a data analyst for 8 months now and the job is so boring and dead end it is driving me nuts. I literally feel like i am trapped in a perpetual nightmare with no way of escape because I need to work to have an income (though I do have enough savings to not work for several months).

What on Earth do I do to get out of this nightmare? It is bringing back my anxiety and depression and making me ill. If I quit my parents will be on my back for quitting, so I feel trapped! :frown:

I just want to not work for several months and just travel the world or something - then find something I am passionate about whatever that may be (it’s not data analytics).

Any advice appreciated. Need to sort myself out and not keep getting to such a low mood. It’s so unhealthy and debilitating!
Have you looked into potential opportunities for doing a similar job abroad?
Within continents like australasia or asia.
Offering lots of potential to explore new cities in your spare time, experience a very different type of organisation culture and try out a diverse range of vegan cusines.
Original post by boulderingislife
So i’ve been working as a data analyst for 8 months now and the job is so boring and dead end it is driving me nuts. I literally feel like i am trapped in a perpetual nightmare with no way of escape because I need to work to have an income (though I do have enough savings to not work for several months).

What on Earth do I do to get out of this nightmare? It is bringing back my anxiety and depression and making me ill. If I quit my parents will be on my back for quitting, so I feel trapped! :frown:

I just want to not work for several months and just travel the world or something - then find something I am passionate about whatever that may be (it’s not data analytics).

Any advice appreciated. Need to sort myself out and not keep getting to such a low mood. It’s so unhealthy and debilitating!