The Student Room Group

I can’t do A Levels anymore

I am a year 12 student. However I have a difficult home life that means that my mental health is not good. When I started year 12, I was just trying to get through each day, not even caring about my grades or studying. I was surprised I made it to September. I have got better now and I can see a way out of this place as I was able to let go of many toxic ideas that had been put into my head. If I get good grades, I can go to uni and get a job and leave this household far far behind me.

However, as I haven’t been studying I am very far behind. I hate one of my subjects, the other one I am doing fine in and have loved it and the final one I am easily catching up in but it is a lot of work. I am terrified for next year as I am struggling to balance the workload as it is also so hard for me to just complete some basic tasks at times.

For the subject I hate, my parents forced me to take it and it gives me the most work and i am struggling. I don’t even like the course nor does it have anything to do with my future plans. I don’t want to resit as it will just be the same thing again and i really don’t want to do A levels for another year. I can’t ask the teacher for help as we don’t really get along and I don’t feel that there is much they can do. I still struggle to get stuff done and therefore don’t want to get stuck going to extra classes or something like that when on most days I know I won’t get anything out of it as I will still be struggling with my mental health too much to care.