The Student Room Group

Help stats maths

Help, I don’t get how to work out 1.96 for part ai
And for part aii I don’t get the equation I’ve never used such an equation before help!IMG_2340.jpegIMG_2341.jpg
(edited 11 months ago)
Reply 1
the 1.96 represents the z values (0 mean, unit variance) for the 95% test, so 2.5% in each tail.
Just plug those values into your calculator so N(0,1) and the x values (inv cumulative prob) for the cumulative percentages 0.025 and 0.975.

the calculation just uses the z values +/-1.96 and applies them to the sample mean distribution which is N(123, 70^2/12144), so you get the values corresponding to the 2.5% tails.
Reply 2
Original post by mqb2766
the 1.96 represents the z values (0 mean, unit variance) for the 95% test, so 2.5% in each tail.
Just plug those values into your calculator so N(0,1) and the x values (inv cumulative prob) for the cumulative percentages 0.025 and 0.975.

the calculation just uses the z values +/-1.96 and applies them to the sample mean distribution which is N(123, 70^2/12144), so you get the values corresponding to the 2.5% tails.

I don’t get this 😭
Reply 3
Which part? You should have done 95% confidence interval tests for sample means? Can you say what you do understand about the question.
Reply 4
Original post by mqb2766
Which part? You should have done 95% confidence interval tests for sample means? Can you say what you do understand about the question.

I don’t get the method basically we haven’t even learned this… my exam is in less than a month 😭
Reply 5
So you understand the mean/variance associated with the sample mean?
If so, can you use the inverse cumulative nomral on your calculator to get the x values for the 0.025 and 0.975 tails?
This is a reaonably common hypothesis test, so you must have done something similar to the above on other questions?