The Student Room Group

I'm feeling self conscious because of my voice

For the last few months I've started noticing this more and it has made me feel self conscious.

When I speak, I can hear my normal British accent, I'm from the south east, apparently having the British accent is considered posh. However, when I'm speaking to people I know like sending voice notes or using a microphone or on a video call my voice sounds different sort of like I have a cold.

I think the reason is affecting me is because I'm studying drama, this September, and it's lead to a career in all sorts, by studying the degree at my university it can take me into journalism which is something I am interested in doing but it puts me of because of my voice changing on voice notes etc.

Does anyone have any advice like and speech exercise I could practice to change?
Original post by Anonymous
For the last few months I've started noticing this more and it has made me feel self conscious.

When I speak, I can hear my normal British accent, I'm from the south east, apparently having the British accent is considered posh. However, when I'm speaking to people I know like sending voice notes or using a microphone or on a video call my voice sounds different sort of like I have a cold.

I think the reason is affecting me is because I'm studying drama, this September, and it's lead to a career in all sorts, by studying the degree at my university it can take me into journalism which is something I am interested in doing but it puts me of because of my voice changing on voice notes etc.

Does anyone have any advice like and speech exercise I could practice to change?